Preparing for NaNo and other stories

This year marks my second attempt at NaNoWriMo. Last years was a half-hearted Pokémon fanfiction that barely got off the ground at 9000 words. This year, despite my lack of a remotely decent piece of writing equipment (electronical, that is), I am giving it a proper shot. It’s going to be an original fiction based around one of my favourite topics: zombie apocalypse.

Unfortunately, beyond that, I don’t have much of an idea beyond what my two main characters are like and what they’re going to get up to later on. I have yet to think up any other survivors, or indeed any plot other than my main female having to kill the man she loves. I am, as the saying goes, fucked.

Although the idea of NaNo is not to have a publishable novel at the end of the month, it’s probably a good idea for me to at least have a rough plan of what’s going to happen. I don’t want to give up because I’ve written myself into a corner and can’t think of how to get back out. Of course, a publishable novel (editing aside) at the end of it would be nice too.

Is there even a market for zombie stories? World War Z says yes, but my common sense says no. If I was ambitious, I’d make my novel less about the zombies and more about the people trying to survive them; fighting, loving, hating and being outright stupid; but I’m not sure I can pull off what’s basically a discussion on human nature. If nothing else, I’m not very good at dialogue right now.

In other news, I’m thinking of entering this short story competion. It costs £7.00 per entry, is in it’s second year and looks completely legitimate. If nothing else it may be enough to get my toe in the door. If I can manage to write a decent short story before March I may think about it seriously.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    koshermuffin said,

    I happened upon your blog looking at some Writing tags and reading about NaNoWriMo and I think that you should write what your heart tells you to. It’s the only way I think to keep and stick with the writing all month. If you’re into it, you get it done and you want to finish it. I think a zombie apocalypse sounds pretty interesting!

    Good luck with whatever you choose! I’m attempting my second year of it as well!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

