Motion Sickness

Well, we got Fallout 3. He bought it regardless of my qualms, so there’s no harm done, I suppose. However…

I can’t play it.

This is the first time my motion sickness has gotten in the way of a game that I actually want to play. It would be fine, if, say, it was the kind which appeared after a while, and I could ignore for a while and went away not long after coming off the game. But it’s not. It’s the kind that rears it’s ugly head after I’ve been playing for 5 minutes, and kicks me to the floor with severe nausea and headaches and dizzy spells. Which doesn’t go away until I’ve slept it off.

I still don’t know what causes it. As of today, there are three games that cause my motion sickness to go severe: Fallout 3, Duke Nukem 3D, and any 3D Spyro game. Oh, and two-player on Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise. The only thing these games have in common are that they’re 3D. That’s it. It’s highly frustrating.

As far as I can tell, there is no real solution to motion sickness; that it can only be ‘managed’, and to be honest, that upsets me greatly. It means I will never be able to play a game I’ve been anticipating for a long time.

I can only see it getting worse, to be honest. As games get more advanced, the less I will be able to play of them. I could miss out on what could be the greatest game of all time because it makes me sick. I’m already missing out on Fallout. I already refuse to play Mario Galaxy because I know from experience with Sonic Adventure 2 it will make me sick. What else will I not be able to play?

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    tobs said,

    Did you buy the PC version? I am a gamer with motion sickness from 3d games, but I can play Fallout 3 no problem, unlike Far Cry 2 which floored me!

    My settings are 1024*768 @ 60, vsync on, multisampling on, antialiasing on. The gfx card I use is a HD3870. I find ATI cards produce less problems than a nvidia card with regards to motion sickness, and this has been the case for many generations of cards, though I have no idea why.

    Also, you might find it slightly better in 3rd person view mode, because the viewpoint moves less.

    Hope this helps a little. I know how frustrating it can be!

  2. 2

    aleksamaricic87 said,

    Its the rythm of the movement of the perspective that gives you motion sicness, try looking around fallout 3 nexus for a mod that might help.

    Like I said on the other post – you arent missing out on anything though. Fallout 3 sucks.

  3. 3

    Matt said,

    Hey just to let you know, you are not alone on this. I just purchased Fallout 3 over the weekend, and it is the first game I have ever played that gives me motion sickness. Very disappointing.

  4. 4

    Evan said,

    Hi. I randomly found this page when I was Googling motion sickness in FPS games..
    I second what tobs said about playing Fallout 3 in third-person. I get major motion sickness from first-person games, but I like how the camera in Fallout 3’s third-person allows to to swing the viewpoint quite a ways back, making for a less nauseating viewpoint (and a better view of any nearby enemies). You should give it a try if you haven’t yet. It helped me a lot, and I’ve since logged waaaaayyy too many hours on that game 🙂

  5. 5

    Greg said,

    Wow…glad I googled this. I also for the first time in many a game got sick last night on Fallout 3. I thought it was me but glad to know there is another….

    Decent game, no Rainbox 6 Vegas but ok….

    Will try the 3rd person view but don’t like why this game does it but others don’t…the developer missed something.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

